Melander among those appointed to Met Council

Four union members, including President Harry Melander,  are among 16 appointments by Governor Mark Dayton to the Metropolitan Council, the governor’s office announced Wednesday.

The Met Council oversees many important public services in the seven-county metropolitan area, including wastewater treatment, the bus system, affordable housing and regional planning. Council members serve at the pleasure of the governor and make governing decisions for the council.

The four union appointees are:

District 3: Jennifer Munt, Minnetonka

Munt is president of Transit for Livable Communities and the Public Affairs Director for AFSCME Council 5. She is an ardent advocate for a balanced transportation system that encourages transit ridership, walking, biking and thoughtful development.

District 8: Adam Duininck, Minneapolis

Duininck is the Legislative and Political Director for the International Union of Operating Engineers Local 49. He is active in the Transportation Alliance and has served on the Transportation Strategic Management Task Force.

District 9: Edward Reynoso, Ham Lake

Reynoso brings to the Council experience in transportation and wastewater services. This experience was gained through his work as a Teamsters union representative and through his involvement in related issues within his community.

District 12: Harry Melander, Mahtomedi

Melander is president of the Minnesota State Building and Construction Trades Council. In addition to his work in the trades, he has served on many community boards and has a keen understanding of the development issues in his district.

The appointees were recommended by a nominating committee that considered 250 applicants. After a five-day review period required by statute, these individuals will be appointed to the Metropolitan Council on March 7, the governor’s office said.

“I am confident that the people in our metropolitan area will be well-served by them,” Dayton said of the appointees.

For more information

View the complete list of Met Council appointees on the governor’s website.